Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Documents 1.5

Hey guys,

today Documents version 1.5 got published, which is supposed to iron out some issues and correct errors which you might have come across in the past few days like saving the files when you did the additional setup.

From now on you can find an all new additional save-icon:

it will either save the file on click or give you the opportunity to rightclick on it and save the file depending on if you did the additional setup for the currently viewed file or not.

### ATTENTION: ###
If you did the additional setup please make sure you now choose the third option (extended function) in Document's settings to keep things working correctly.

This new third option entirely switches off the link-manipulation since they are checked on page loading anyway.
This will first of all give you the opportunity to right-click on links again to save the files (whereever it worked before; Google e.g. creates tracking links which can't be seen in the first run but make saving files out of search results impossible – with and without extension)
And in addition to that it improves site compatibility and uses less resources 🙂

So I hope you enjoy this release. Keep the feedback coming and don't forget to rate the extension 😉

P.S: Happy fourth of July to all of you guys in the US! :hat:

Comments on: "Documents 1.5" (10)

  1. Could you make this with Optional;Every document link may have a save to disk button right of link.

  2. christoph142 said:

    Hi metude,the way I implemented this makes it pretty much impossible to do so because basically the save-icon contains the original link and Opera does the rest, i.e. handling it. So if I added that button to every link, it would behave exactly like if you (right-)clicked on the link next to it. There's no extra value 😉

  3. Looks like i'm so lazy :p

  4. Anonymous writes:Also, if I'm supposed to see a button on my toolbar for this extension to confirm that it's installed and working (like I do with a couple of other exstensions I just added), I'm not seeing it.

  5. Ed writes:I'm not following what you mean when you say "choose the third option (extended function) in Document's settings to keep things working correctly" – I'm not understanding where you say to do this: do you mean to say I have to remember to go into a document's "settings" (?) whenever I get around to downloading that document in Opera and remeber to select "the third option" (whatever that is)?I've followed your instructins up to this point but when I copy a Word document shortcut on my desktop and paste its path into the Opera address field, it doesn't open; I thought it was supposed to open in Opera now that I've installed your extension.

  6. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by anonymous:

    do you mean to say I have to remember to go into a document's "settings" (?) whenever I get around to downloading that document in Opera

    No, if you want to use the latter two features, you do the mentioned setup in Opera and then choose the third option in Documents settings. That's it. No need to repeat anything of it anymore.Originally posted by anonymous:

    when I copy a Word document shortcut on my desktop and paste its path into the Opera

    As you may have read, Documents is an Online documents viewer. It by design can't display files from your computer. It may be possible in the future by uploading the file first, but that's gonna require a lot of work from me which I unfortunately don't have the time for at the moment.Originally posted by anonymous:

    if I'm supposed to see a button on my toolbar

    You're not supposed since a button would not add any extra functionality, but only clutter your interface.

  7. WildGenius said:

    For some reason it chooses the wrong language (german instead of russian). Is there an option to toggle language in the works?UPD: Found the option, but it still chose the wrong language by default.UPD2: Matter of fact, no matter which language i pick in the settings, it still displays in a weird combination of english (save file) and what looks like german (everything else).

  8. christoph142 said:

    Oh that's a mistake at Google's end then. As you might know it uses Google Docs viewer. It only readjusts the page. The English parts are provided by the extension. The rest is automatically chosen by Google. They must have changed this recently, because I was wondering myself yesterday, why my interface is an English/German-mix now.You may wanna report this to Google 😉

  9. WildGenius said:

    Fixed it! You can use this link https://drive.google.com/settings to choose your language (its in the first dropdown menu). Maybe add it to your viewer's settings page?

  10. christoph142 said:

    Your link wasn't very helpful since it requires registration to access the language options, but I found a way to solve this issue.I uploaded a new version in which the language chosen in the options page also determines the language of the viewer interface ;)It'll probably be published in the extension catalog by Monday :wizard:

Leave a Reply

