Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Okay, so here we go.

I've put a lot of work into it during the last few days, but now – as long as I didn't forget to do half of the basic stuff I planned to implement on my way – Smart Clipboard reached a beta stage.

How it's supposed to work:

Smart Clipboard enhances your clipboard by adding a history as well as a section for custom texts. …


You can access it in the following ways:

1. The full menu by pressing (Ctrl +) Alt + A (standard setting; can be adjusted in the options page).
If you do this, you will find the current history opened up first. you can select the entries press Ctrl/ Cmd + C to copy the stuff back as your active entry (this will be done automatically as soon as the API in Opera gets finished properly) and then close the menu by hitting Esc. Or you can select the "Custom Texts"-tab, where you can place text snippets (also in the options page) which you're using frequently to copy them over and you can find the "trash"-tab. It contains the history entries, which exceeded the limit of the actual history.
Why is there a limit for the history? Because otherwise it'll get too long when you toggle through all of the entries with your keyboard if you open it up in

2. the slim mode 🙂
by pressing Ctrl (or Cmd on a Mac – can somebody please tell me about keyboard shortcuts for Linux / Unix? I never ran one of them) and then pressing V. If you press it only once it'll work like always and insert the last copied text. If you keep ctrl pressed however and press v multiple times, the menu will open up and toggle through the last entries in your history one by one. If you reached the entry you need, press C and then release Ctrl.
Now this entry became active again and you can paste it wherever you need it 🙂

Note that – as of now – it only works in Opera 12.50 because of the updated Presto Core. This will most likely change in the upcoming days before the initial release, but I figured I wanted to throw it out to you guys before tinkering another day or two 😉

I hope you gonna like it as much as I do.

Keep the feedback coming :cheers:

UPDATE: Opera < 12.50 should be working now as well (due to the Presto Core limitations only when using Ctrl/Cmd + c whereas Opera 12.50 works with choosing "copy" in the context menu as well). However, it looks like the default key combination (Alt + A) seems to cause trouble in 12.01 (which you can come across by pressing Shift with them). 🙂

You're very welcome to test it:

you can get the code @ https://github.com/Christoph142/SmartClipboard 🙂

Comments on: "Smart Clipboard nearing release" (5)

  1. roseoneil2 said:

    helloam cynthia i will like you to writeto my email cynthiajobe@hotmail.comso that i will tell you more about mewith photos.LOVEKisses

  2. :up: Will be usefull with some development.Here's some ideas and bug reports:- Add download link to post http://files.myopera.com/metude/deleteable/smartclipboard.02.07.oex (Make easy access to your users)- In Opera 12.01 Alt+A doesn't working as you say. Is it Opera's bug.- When change keyboard shortcut when a tab opened, extension erases all form box informations. (Try in this page.)- Add easy feedback box or link to your info page. Also more contact information about author and extension will be usefull.- IMHO, make it publish on addon catalog. No need to hide it. Doesn't contains too much serious bugs. Just you will get more user with releasing early.- Also I'm using three-key combination for opening. So It's very hard to change tabs in popup. So add a counter (with optional timer) and after opening it it'll close slowly or fast.- Switching tabs can be easly done with pressing same keyboard shortcuts.- (just) Scroll lock button doesn't working as shortcut. It takes name but after closing options page, it changes with "a".- Make a more visual and styled article. (i mean bolds, italics, diffrent formatting in keyboard shortcuts(just like tamil's blog)) Use headings. I don't like reading articles in plain text.- Add small usage guide into the options page.+ I didn't tried custom texts but it looks like usefull thing.

  3. Continue:- I can't click url in copied location.- Also Import, export most wanted feature by me.- Is it possible sync with O Link. I mean extension will create a folder in Notes in Opera. So it'll use and check it I don't can it be done with this:http://my.opera.com/spadija/blog/2011/04/25/opera-link-library-previewAlso you may look to these codes: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ffbhefmlcoihbjcmibbfkocmnaiacinpI have an short idea with keybard to use custom texts:- First shortcut (mine is Ctrl+Shift+1)- A second press will switch to Custom Texts- In this page titles will have an shortcut letter. For example if you press down arrow in this page, https://checkvist.com/auth/login , you'll get a underlined letters in begging of notes. When you press it on keyboard it'll add it to there. Same mechanism in SC would be nice. (Also configurable from options page will more nice.)

  4. christoph142 said:

    Thanks a lot for the great feedback! I'll try to honor it by answering all topics one by one:Originally posted by metude:

    Add download link to post

    There actually is a link. But I'll move it to the end ;)Originally posted by metude:

    In Opera 12.01 Alt+A doesn't working as you say. Is it Opera's bug

    I actually don't know, but thanks for confirmation. I'll download Opera 12 & 11.64 to see if this is unique to 12.01 and then I'll adjust the standard key combination accordinglyOriginally posted by metude:

    When change keyboard shortcut when a tab opened, extension erases all form box informations

    True. I made all pages reload automatically when changing the key combination in order to make it work instantly, but I didn't consider that one may have entered data in there Originally posted by metude:

    Add easy feedback box or link to your info page. Also more contact information about author and extension will be usefull. IMHO, make it publish on addon catalog.

    It'll of course be published in the extension catalog and as soon as I know the link for it, I'll also integrate two buttons for rating and bug reporting on the info-tab in the extension. That's on my todo-list already. I just wanted some guys to test it before releasing it into the wild ;)Originally posted by metude:

    Also I'm using three-key combination for opening. So It's very hard to change tabs in popup

    Not sure if I get this one. You know that you can release those keys and the menu stays open, right?Originally posted by metude:

    So add a counter (with optional timer) and after opening it it'll close slowly or fast.

    I'll take this one into consideration. But most probably not in the initial releaseOriginally posted by metude:

    Switching tabs can be easily done with pressing same keyboard shortcuts

    That's a bit tricky because Opera sends the keydown event as long as the key is kept pressed instead of just sending it once. Also most probably in a future release ;)Originally posted by metude:

    (just) Scroll lock button doesn't working as shortcut It takes name but after closing options page, it changes with "a"

    What isn't working?!Originally posted by metude:

    Make a more visual and styled article.

    I'm sorry. I'll try to do so in future blog posts :cow: Originally posted by metude:

    Add small usage guide into the options page

    OK, I will :)Originally posted by metude:

    I can't click url in copied location.

    True. Opera currently only allows pure text copies… I might implement this myself thoughOriginally posted by metude:

    Also Import, export most wanted feature by me

    What exactly do you want to import / export?Originally posted by metude:

    Is it possible sync with O Link.

    I never used Opera notes. I'll have a look at the links you sent. Maybe I'll find a way to do so :sherlock: Originally posted by metude:

    I have a short idea with keybard to use custom texts

    I'll also have a look at this one 🙂

  5. No need to hurry, or you've to make it. They're all just suggestions. Extension can publish like this :yes: About import/export, I may want to import/export custom texts.About scroll lock, in my desktopt computer, there's a key in numpad "Scroll Lock". So I wanted to make it as keyboard shortcut for extension. But extension doesn't allow me. When exit preferences page with Scroll lock button it's changing with "a".

    short idea with keybard to use custom texts

    Maybe there may be another keyboard combination for custom texts.Originally posted by christoph142:

    Not sure if I get this one. You know that you can release those keys and the menu stays open, right?

    No, it's gone when release keys.(i hope i didn't miss something in your reply. (i readed a bit fast.)

Leave a Reply

