Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Is there gonna be a next?

subtitle: extension frustration

As you might have noticed, I ran into some trouble lately getting Documents and modern scroll published in the catalog.

I wanna elaborate on this matter real quick: …

1) Documents didn't get published :down: , because the moderators judged my extension as "not working" since deleting private data rendered it unusable. As you may know this happens due to a new bug in Opera introduced in 12.10 which deletes default variables out of the config.xml-file. :down: I had a huge discussion about it :down: , but eventually it got published

2) modern scroll didn't get published :down: because I have two 12.10+-only features in it, which I declared as optional since they are not required to run the application. I told them to publish it for 12.10 only since it only works in there for some different reasons. It got rejected nevertheless because it doesn't work in earlier versions of Opera :down: and they made me alter it to required=true and reupload it again. :down:
Now, that it got published and Opera Next became stable, it automatically became available for download to all versions of Opera :down:

(They now manually changed it again as I complained about it, but the problem may reoccur in a few days with the release of 12.11 :down: )

3) if guys on 12.02 and lower try to install modern scroll now, they will get an error. But instead of or sth. similar, they will get

which results in negative reviews of course :down:

4) Not even developers are given access to the bug tracking system. There are a few ones on my list which are affecting my extensions. And there's NO way for me to get any kind of update on them. :down:

Is it so hard to care about the guys who try to make Opera a bit better – without being paid?

I really invest a lot of my free time into developing and improving extensions. But since it became that frustrating lately I'm seriously thinking about "quitting my job".

C'mon Opera, you can do better than that! 😦

Comments on: "Is there gonna be a next?" (7)

  1. 😦

  2. christoph142 said:

    Sorry for that. I had to release my frustration somewhere. It was driving me nuts the last days 😉

  3. Originally posted by christoph142:

    which results in negative reviews of course

    Thats sad, for such hard work! :(Originally posted by christoph142:

    I really invest a lot of my free time into developing and improving extensions. But since it became that frustrating lately I'm seriously thinking about "quitting my job".

    😥

  4. I ran into the "Delete persistent storage" bug too – luckily my extension has a reset button – but setting up about 19 settings anew after each "Delete private data" is a real PITA. Extensions preferences done by the user are not the same as persistent (web) storage in my book.btw. bug tracker:The extensions "bug tracker" and the comments section is ridiculous too. Especially if you have build a multi language extension you have to look at each language separately because there is no "show me all in all languages when I am logged in as dev" – and there is no setting that tells the users that the author doesn't understand all languages just because some of the friendly community members translated the strings for him. I had some comments which were absolutely nonsensical when shoved through the usual online translators …… and yes, the closed Opera BTS is a PITA and the API documentation too.

  5. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by QuHno:

    Extensions preferences done by the user are not the same as persistent (web) storage in my book

    No they are not. And default variables are not private at all! 3 different sets of data. All deleted at once :bug:I couldn't agree more on what you're saying. Not forgetting about not being able to comment on comments to your extension, no possibility to reupload a rejected extension without altering the version number (especially stupid when your initial release hereby turns into an update)…Long story short: it sucks!

  6. Originally posted by christoph142:

    No they are not.

    I know, that's why I wrote "in my book" i.e.: I see it so. That Opera doesn't is IMHO a big, ugly :bug: DSK-375954 :bug: which should be corrected ASAP.

  7. I'm sorry you're having problems with your work :(. Your extensions are great. Modern scroll is top quality and I really like the ideea of Documents :D.I don't know what Opera is thinkin' as of late.

Leave a Reply

