Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

modern scroll 1.3 beta

Again? Again! :cheers:
I hope you're not too tired of reading about modern scroll in here ๐Ÿ˜‰ …

Although the visible changes are pretty minimalistic, I did some serious rearrangements under the hood.

Therefore, I intend to go for a prolonged testing phase so I don't have to shoot a bugfix release out like I had to after releasing 1.2 :ninja:

For the first time, modern scroll has a known issue: if you open http://www.codog.de/Opera/bothscroll.html, which I created to test the superbar, you will see that the bars are misplaced if you reload the page afer you scrolled down. I filed a bug report since I have no clue what's causing it, but I failed to reproduce this issue on any other website out in the wild.
So, if you should come across that issue somewhere else (or you are more of a genius than I am and know what's the matter) please let me know! :chef:

Other than that, here's the

Changelog:

new: optionally set an area to trigger hover mode for easier access
new: bar moved inwards from the border (adjustable)
fix: mini page is incorrect on separately opened images
upd: animate scroll by mouse / keyboard by default
beta2:
fix: button position isn't saved anymore in options
fix: all known console errors
beta3:
new: transparency setting for scroll bars
upd: changed behavior and look of the superbar

Now is also the right time if you still got feature requests or issues. Just drop a comment.
And as always: anybody who's willing to help: you can find the localizations here ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks and have fun with it ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments on: "modern scroll 1.3 beta" (17)

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sally K. writes:Very nice, thanks :).The new trigger area setting is perfect, and everything else works as intended (even the known issue, but only on that page). I've run out of feature wishes!But … does anyone know how to remove Opera's scrollbars from SpeedDial?

  3. christoph142 said:

    I'm happy to hear that :)I'd really appreciate it, if you rated the extension in the catalog.I can't help you with that speed dial issue, though. Anyone?

  4. christoph142 said:

    Well the superbar is supposed to show up as soon as a vertical and horizontal scroll bar become necessary. So when you zoom the pages and they exceed the window it's what's supposed to happen, isn't it?

  5. Regarding Super Bar:I hate it as it covers almost whole page, thats why i keep it disabled. :(Is there anyway to set the custom size of SuperBar and it offers same functionality?(For example a circular button in center of page (like scroll button), that acts as SuperBar)

  6. when I zoom to 140% or more it occurs for me in all websites I visit except opera.com windows 7 x64opera 12.11 x64

  7. yes, and only this happens when I hover mouse in the same line with the superbar( I can't explain it very well )

  8. :cheers: and thanks for the great work! I did notice a bug:-Buttons location is not being saved. They always appear in the top/bottom center!Request:-Add an option to change border radius for Scroll bar only if possible (Background bar should have border radius zero).Good work! :hat:

  9. christoph142 said:

    But I agree on what all those bug reports obviously demonstrate: there has to a modifier key or something similar to make the superbar visible to prevent it accidentally covering half of the page. I just didn't have an idea yet how to solve this issue. Any suggestions?

  10. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by mubaidr:

    I did notice a bug:-Buttons location is not being saved. They always appear in the top/bottom center!Request:-Add an option to change border radius for Scroll bar only if possible (Background bar should have border radius zero).

    Thanks. Fixed in beta2 ;)Why would you want this? It'll look totally awkward :eyes:

  11. Thanks for the extension.I can translate it to Portuguese if you want. Just show how.Request: Option to set bars opacity.

  12. christoph142 said:

    Hey Andrรฉ,thanks for your offer. I really appreciate it :)I just created the Portuguรชs localization @ Github for you. You will find all of the strings in the format "key":"value" there. Leave the "key" as it is and translate the right side. That's it :up: Concerning your request: I already read your rating in the catalog (Thanks for that :)) and began to implement it :yes:

  13. Thanks, :cheers:
    Finished translation, but how should I send it? I have a GitHub account if this helps. I don't think I should fork the whole project just to translate.Edit:Found a bug, scrolling clicking the bars make flash disappear.

  14. christoph142 said:

    What should be what? ^^If you click on "edit" in GitHub it'll automatically fork it, won't it? This is the easiest way for me to do it, cause I can automatically merge it. But if you want to, you can also send it to me via email ;)Concerning that bug: this isn't a bug at my end, but it happens when a transparent element (I'm covering the whole page with a transparent div when you drag the bars to prevent any interaction with the site, e.g. cursor changes over links) is placed over some Flash contents (notice that it's only some, cause there are videos, that stay visible and all other kinds of content, e.g. Flash ads, too). It's on Opera's side and there's nothing I can do about it (I guess switching Opera from software to hardware mode might solve this issue and I don't think that this happens on all platforms either…) :ko:

  15. christoph142 said:

    I altered the look and feel of the superbar without the minipage a bit in beta 3:Instead of making it as high as the vertical bar and as wide as the horizontal one, it is now 10% of the window in both dimensions, so basically a little "knob". Thus it doesn't cover half of the page anymore, but exactly 1%.Its midpoint stays horizontally and vertically identical to the corresponding bars, which will get visible as soon as you click the superbar and stay until you release it again.This way you can see what moving the superbar does to both dimensions.What do you guys think about it? Is it better than before?(If you need some pages for testing: http://www.codog.de/Opera/bothscroll.html, http://www.gamersgate.com)

  16. ^Thats exactly what i wanted, great work! :yes: Can you make this button round? using border-radius! ๐Ÿ™„

  17. Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

