Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

modern scroll 1.4 alpha

There's a first time for everything…

And today you will be served an alpha version of an extension by me for the first time :happy: …

What did I do in this version?
I think it was even back in version 1.0 (a loooong loooooong time ago :p), when somebody requested me not only to improve the interface, but to speed up scrolling itself.

I wasn't sure, if that was possible at all.
I wrote, tried and tested different approaches on my pretty weak laptop as well as a rather powerful desktop PC with Opera in hardware accelerated mode within the last days and I can say the following now:

Originally posted by Christoph:

Hell yeah! :yes:

As a first step, I integrated a custom function for scrolling with the arrow keys. The speed is adjustable in the options page. It's working wonders on my laptop and it's still noticeable even on my desktop PC.
It gets rid of that "hickup"-moment, when it stops for an instance again before it continues scrolling after you pressed the key and the whole process itself is far better than Opera's default scrolling.

I think and hope you're going to love it just as much as I do :flirt:

Additionally, I fixed a small bug, which made the scroll buttons occasionally jump to the left border of the screen in the options page (and made them being saved as default position for all websites in that way).

alpha 2 includes version 1.3.1's fix for anidb.net (basically the same issue as w3school, but due to a different CSS component)
as well as Sally's bug about Alt+arrow key (thanks for reporting that one. I didn't know about that combination since I'm using mouse gestures for navigating back and forth in history) :up:

alpha 3 gets rid of the overlapping of the bars. I went for the second approach and as I guessed, the code needed to calculate the correct position of the bar almost doubled. It's working, though and it doesn't have any impact on the vertical scroll performance 😉

alpha 4 (two versions in one day. That's fast – even for me :P) adds an option for animating scrolling. That's scrolling function 2 out of 3. One more and we're ready for beta :cheers:

Drop a comment about your experience with this snapshot below 🙂

P.S: I may have found the reason why installing modern scroll creates duplicates. It's because of the unique widget id assigned by the extension catalog. I'll try to exchange this ID with the current one in the upcoming snapshots. We'll see if that fixes the issue 😉

Comments on: "modern scroll 1.4 alpha" (17)

  1. About the P.S. : That was my major issue with it. Great that you figured out what was causing it! 😀

  2. Yeeeeei. Updating from 1.3 to 1.4 alpha didn't make a duplicate. It just updated the extension and kept all the settings intact. Awesome.

  3. christoph142 said:

    Awesome. But I didn't change anything yet! 😆

  4. Interesting. Maybe the clean profile I did with 12.11 resolved the issue of duplicate extension ??

  5. Sally K. writes:Both 1.3 and 1.4 installed without a duplicate for me (by drag'n'drop of the downloaded .oex file). But it's still at the bottom of the installed list, out of alphabetical order.More importantly, 1.4's cool new "use custom scrolling functions" feature disables the Alt+Left and Alt+Right hotkeys (i.e. the default keyboard shortcuts for Page Back and Page Forward) for me (using Opera 12.11 Final on XP). Huh?

  6. christoph142 said:

    Yeah that's strange indeed, but even Opera's extension guys don't have any clue what might be causing that :confused:

  7. Sally K. writes:Um, do you mean Opera's extension guys don't know what might be causing the non-alphabetical placement, or the keyboard shortcuts issue?

  8. christoph142 said:

    I'm talking about the alphabetical-order-issue.The keyboard-shortcut-thing is fixed in alpha 2, isn't it? That's why I didn't specify 😉

  9. christoph142 said:

    You're welcome ;)I get rewarded by modern scroll currently ranking 4th in the list of top-rated extensions of all time (can we make it all the way to the top? :yes:)I feared, that this request would come eventually :DWell, it's possible, I just wasn't quite sure if it'll slow down things too much since I have to account for that excluded part of the screen in each and every calculation. I'll give it a try. Maybe in 1.4. Not sure yet, though :up:I started a poll on this issue. See the right side of the blog! :up:btw:Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    the spiritual successor to Slim Scrollbar

    It's not only the spiritual one, but the real one ^^I got in touch with Gabriele (damage92) and have push access to Slim ScrollBar's github repo. I started optimizing its code, but eventually we agreed on publishing it separately since I rewrote it from scratch and due to Gabriele's spare time at the moment, I am the only one who can keep up that release cycle (uploading the extension to the catalog and updating all of the changelogs etc. needs some time, too!) 😉

  10. laurenbacall said:

    Thanks for implementing the feature requests in v1.3, I updated my custom settings in my Photo section to reflect the v1.3 changes.Haven't tried the v1.4 yet but is it possible to add a slight margin to the top/bottom-most areas of the scrollbar strip?Currently the scrollbar scrolls all the way to the top/bottom of the window and touches the edges. Slim Scrollbar added a slight margin which made it slightly more visually appealing and prevented the horizontal and vertical bars from overlapping.The release cycles are phenomenal! Keep up the excellent work :star:.

  11. laurenbacall said:

    Ah, I see. Well I could live without it if it came at a performance hit, but maybe you'll strike upon the magic code :sherlock:Had no idea that Modern Scroll was so highly ranked, nice!Just saw your additional comment and poll: when you say 'shortened' horizontal scrollbar do you mean that the length of the scrollbar would no longer visually represent how wide the page is?

  12. christoph142 said:

    no, I just meant that the horizontal background bar will start at the left side and reach to the vertical one instead of the right side of the screen. The scroll bar itself stays as wide as it is now and it's going to react just as you're used to :sherlock:The alternatives:left: current situation, overlapping :down:middle: intended, only shortening horizontal barright: both bars shortened

  13. Sally K. writes:LOL: I didn't notice alpha 2 when asking about the keyboard fix :).On alpha 3, I see a big CPU hit when vertical scrolling while a horizontal bar exists. I don't know if that's new, because I didn't really try to test that before (and I see you chose the "0 impact on the performance" option, so I guess it isn't new). Turning off animation helps a little (but that sucks, the other 99% of the time). Turning M.Scroll off while scrolling dual bar pages is a *lot* better :(. *If* repainting the horizontal bar while scrolling vertically is the culprit, I'd prefer an option to kill the horizontal bar during scrolling vertically. All of the above is while using the mousewheel to scroll: using the arrow keys with "use custom scrolling functions" is night-and-day better! You can't apply the same magic to mouse scrolling, I suppose?

  14. christoph142 said:

    You know I'm fast. I uploaded alpha 2 with the fix half an hour after you posted it :yes:Concerning mouse scrolling: I'm working on it :wizard: :up:The missing mouse scrolling function is why I call it alpha and not beta yet 😉

  15. :cheers: This thing has turned into big project! :yes: Just wait when a Opera Developer writes love about this extension. :flirt: Originally posted by christoph142:

    not beta yet

    I want Touch Scroll for mouse, please please… 😀 Current extensions available gives horrible scrolling performances. :(BTW extension is now at no.3! :hat:

  16. christoph142 said:

    I may integrate that for you as well in some future version 😉

  17. Originally posted by christoph142:

    I may integrate that for you as well in some future version

    Thank you sooo much! :yes:

Leave a Reply

