Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

I hope you all had a great start into the year 2013 :cheers:

Whenever your hangover vanishes and you feel like getting something fresh, check out this all new modern scroll build πŸ˜‰ …

The first ratings of modern scroll 2.0 look pretty promising. I feared that the custom scrolling functions might cause a little storm of complaints since it's interfering pretty massively with Opera's default actions, but that didn't happen so far :yes:

Version 2.1 is hence going to be an evolution of the revolution :up:

2.1 RC:
new: the default set of settings gets updated if new settings are added in an update
new: trigger area doesn't prevent covered part of page from being clicked anymore

2.1 beta:
new: option to disable long animations

  • you can choose a maximum length of 1 up to 5 pages or animate it all the time
  • selecting one page is equivalent to Opera's default meaning PageUp/PageDown are animated, Home/End isn't
  • default value is 2 pages

fix: number input fields in options page go crazy when clicking the arrows

  • fix for DSK-380461
  • as a side effect changes are visible almost instantaneously now :up:

fix: Microsoft Bing (thx AndrΓ© for reporting)

What changed since 2.0?

new: enhanced background bars visibility setting

  • instead of
  1. show
  2. don't show
  • you now have the choice to show them
  1. never
  2. only when hovered
  3. whenever the scroll bars are visible

new: support for cleanPages extension

  • Re-add the scroll bars when cleanPages removes them and
  • move cleanPages' auto-scrolling button inwards so it doesn't get covered

fix: megalab.it

  • It's not excluded anymore since I finally found a workaround for the incompatibility with the outdated mootools framework, which is still used for all subpages

Besides that, I separated the extension code a bit more from the websites:
All injected elements (the user interface) are now located in one single container and I wrapped the whole code into a single function so the global namespace doesn't get polluted with modern scroll's variables and functions anymore :up:

Please report back to me if the performance of the extension stays the same for you switching from 2.0 to 2.1 (I personally felt that it got a bit jerkier when I wrapped things up, but this could as well be my imagination…).
Thanks for that! :up:

Comments on: "New Year, new version (2.1 beta) ! :hat:" (14)

  1. :up: Will try it out.

  2. Great! Testing… :cheers: One more thing i want to mention, Scrolling in version 2.0 and above is not SMOOTH, while the 1.5 beta had smooth scrolling!

  3. christoph142 said:

    Are you talking about the mouse wheel, the arrow keys, the automated scrolling?And did you try disabling the custom functions…?

  4. I just found that Bing gets weird with modern scroll.And good Portuguese translation on new strings, nothing to change.

  5. Originally posted by christoph142:

    Are you talking about the mouse wheel, the arrow keys, the automated scrolling?

    I was talking about "mouse wheel scrolling", other type of scrolling i.e. arrow keys works fine (smooth).Originally posted by christoph142:

    And did you try disabling the custom functions…?

    Actually i have disabled Smooth Scrolling in Opera setting, so disabling/enabling custom functions isn't showing any diffrence. While in 1.5 Betas scrolling was much smoother using custom functions.

  6. christoph142 said:

    OK, gotcha. Yeah, I tried using the same functions for mouse scrolling that I'm using for the automated scrolling back in 1.5. There was some trouble so I went for a very direct approach.I'll possibly (additionally?) go for the other variant in an upcoming version πŸ˜‰

  7. christoph142 said:

    I'd appreciate a screenshot :up:I do have an outlook.com-account, but only 3 mails in it – so I can't scroll ^^And what is affected? mouse wheel scrolling, arrow keys, interface?Concerning that "popup": when I click the link it's opened in a full window without bars, so I can't replicate it. You have to post the source page opening the popup.However, I guess it's the same issue that I already know about on this page (click on any "Zum Labor"-Button), right?

  8. hey, great workunfortunately, I have found a weird bug with " outlook.com", the whole layout go up when scroll down, when it was supposed to scroll only the mail body ! I'll make you a screenshot if you want :)also, Opera scroll bars seem to persist here http://games.flyordie.com/s/playerInfo.html?portal=flyordie_com&lang=en&room=1201&user=25733118&nick= ( it's supposed to be a " popup " )other than that, great work and I think we're ready for 2.1 πŸ˜‰

  9. christoph142 said:

    Very strange.I just tested avm.de in a 32-bit and 64-bit USB installation (Win 8) again. They both show double bars (standard and modern scroll), whereas your link only shows the modern scroll one over here when I resize the window. :confused:You still didn't tell me how to reproduce the outlook.com-issue ;)Or does it matter at all which way of scrolling you use?

  10. there we go πŸ˜‰ the screenshot : + for the other popup, you have just to resize the tab or the window so that the scroll bars appear, and I don't have any bug with avm.de when I click Zum Labor !! everything works just fine πŸ˜€ windows 8 32bit !

  11. christoph142 said:

    Just because I don't have a clue what else could be causing the different behavior in my and your installation: can you try disabling all other extensions and your skin and test flyordie and outlook again?

  12. yes, sorry for that !! it happens with mouse wheel scrolling ! πŸ™‚ (not the keyboard )edit: for the two other websites, here's a screenshot:well, I Opened the link of flyordie directly and it seems to not show opera's scrollbars as you pointed ! the only solution is to make an account and try it yourself i'm afraid, cause it's a java based game and there is no way for me to see the original link !

  13. well, I did a little investigation and I found that " external scripts " is the " faulty one " when it's activated and block the website scripts the scroll bars don't show and that's good thing, but when I disable it or allow or the scripts, they show again..so, I did better and found out that this particular script is behind the bug : http://www.avm.de/de/js/avm.js when it's activated the bars show, when disabled all works just fine πŸ™‚ !! good luck

  14. christoph142 said:

    Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it! But I already know, what's causing the avm-glitch… I just wanted to give a comparable example to your popup :angel: That's why I mentioned the other two sites only in my previous answer πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

