Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

TextBoXpander

It's another weekend without any news from Opera. So I thought, I'd give you a little insight in my upcoming extension number 6 :up: …

I can't tell you the name, since I didn't decide how to call it yet. Neither do I have a real icon. The one that I put in this post is proprietary. Hence the intention of this topic – besides giving you a new little toy :yes: – is to ask you to give me a hand with it ๐Ÿ™‚

The extension's purpose can be summed up pretty easily:
it resizes input fields and textareas automatically while you're typing so you can read the whole text and don't have to scroll or navigate around with the cursor (like Facebook does with its message windows) ๐Ÿ’ก

That's the theory, here's your practical experience: Get version 1.0 now! :cheers:

I ruled out all known issues to me and uploaded this version to the catalog now :up:

Comments on: "TextBoXpander" (29)

  1. christoph142 said:

    Great. Just post links to the icons here. So everybody can decide on them :up:Concerning the coloring: It already exists and I want to avoid duplicating features ๐Ÿ˜‰https://addons.opera.com/extensions/details/focus-on-textbox

  2. :cheers: Answers for Questions:1) Input tools? or Input Optimizer2) I am good at searching icons! will send you icons you can choose if you like.3) Color/border them as these are focused.

  3. mubaidr said:

    Since this extension is related to inputs, you add more options and features, thats why i am looking for generic icons.-http://static.iospirit.com/static/objectfiles/image/832/icnVirtualInput.png-If someone has good graphic designer ability, he can create icon like this: http://www.downloadsarea.com/Icons/Key-Customizer-94925.gif-Or slightly modified verison of this icon: (My favourite :p)http://icon.downv.com/32×32/8/189/1844456.5a9fcecd8461f8d91c0f0bd6363fd70a.gif

  4. I can work on an icon. But I need inspiration. And a name will help a lot.

  5. laurenbacall said:

    Apart from the strange checkboxes this userscript adds some helpful additional padding to the bottom.Suggestions:- Add subtle resizing animation (even if just simple CSS transition on height change).- Name ideas: SmartResize, Input Space, Type & Expand. Edit: didn't notice it's already named ๐Ÿ˜† A nice test page :)How about this icon I designed:

  6. christoph142 said:

    @ Lauren: I like the icon :)What does the rest of you guys think about it?And the name that I put in is as proprietary as the icon. I just had to name it somehow ;)I added a poll for the name suggestions so you can easily vote for your favorites without flooding the comments :up:

  7. what about: InputFieldResize !! ?

  8. @Lauren:Your icon is cool, but I don't think that arrow is much informative. My suggestions is: (little hard to write it, if you can't understand I can try to explain better)Just use the selector beam with a enlargement effect, like duplicate the image, resize it bigger and add transparency. Adding 2 or 3 more.

  9. christoph142 said:

    Pictures do say more than a thousand words…! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. laurenbacall said:

    I understand what Andre's suggesting, essentially two text carets one smaller one larger with different opacities to suggest enlargement (although the font-size isn't being increased ;)).Personally I still prefer the arrow as I think it's fairly clear that it represents downward expansion/movement inside a text-box, but everyone is different :)BTW here is the correct 64px wide and @2x version (I've noticed the extension version number has to be changed to see the difference). Also 'GrowTextiGrow!' is adorable :p

  11. Good points lauren, maybe add such effect on the background box, since it represents the text box.Some name suggestions:TextBoxGrowerTextBoxExpanderTextBoXpander

  12. christoph142 said:

    I love "TextBoXpander"!Since there's a lot less feedback than I expected in here, I'll go for this if nobody complains within the next 3 hours :happy:@Lauren: I need the icon (currently 68×68) in 128×128, please :up:

  13. christoph142 said:

    ๐Ÿ˜† I love it!!! :love: :lol:You just made me laugh so hard ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. laurenbacall said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    I love "TextBoXpander"!Since there's a lot less feedback than I expected in here, I'll go for this if nobody complains within the next 3 hours

    That's a lot of upper/lowercase :P! I like 'AutoSize', although perhaps not as descriptive as some.Originally posted by christoph142:

    @Lauren: I need the icon (currently 68×68) in 128×128, please

    See my comment a few up where I link to the 64px and 128px (@2x) versions.

  15. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    That's a lot of upper/lowercase!

    Well, "TextboXpander" then? :idea:Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    See my comment a few up

    Woops, I didn't see that. Perfect! Thanks a lot Lauren ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. laurenbacall said:

    How about TextboxPanda :lol:You can name it 'TextBoXpander' if you really like it.Edit: my gawd would that image make an awesome easter egg!

  17. I keep reading it as Textbox Pander. Like it's pondering on something.

  18. christoph142 said:

    Well, it makes you ponder… So it's correct again ๐Ÿ˜†

  19. laurenbacall said:

    Hey, you included the easter egg, nice ๐Ÿ˜† This is my take on the easter egg, imagined when the user types 'TextBoXpanda' (wait 2 secs).Okay, serious mode :p, so I've found some bugs, tell if they're reproducible:I'm using the option 'vertical-only' in the preferences.RC 1.0 still resizes textareas super short for me (seen in Opera mail):And when a textbox is selected on this page (may require switching tabs before it appears):

  20. christoph142 said:

    The first one isn't reproducible to me. I just realized that MyOpera Mail uses its own resizing functions for the To- and Message-field, though. TextBoXpander is barely interfering with it, but doesn't make it better either. Hence I'm going to exclude these two fields in future versions.Side note: If you come across any other pages with their own resizing functions let me know :up:The second one actually does what it's supposed to do: enlarge the field so you can read the whole content, doesn't it?

  21. laurenbacall said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    The second one actually does what it's supposed to do: enlarge the field so you can read the whole content, doesn't it?

    Not in my testing with the extension disabled :confused: Upload a small file with the button then select the data URI and press Ctrl+A and the textbox expands off-screen.

  22. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    Upload a small file with the button then select the data URI and press Ctrl+A and the textbox expands off-screen

    Sure it does. It expands as wide as necessary to show the whole text…

  23. laurenbacall said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    Sure it does. It expands as wide as necessary to show the whole text…

    I understand what you mean now :doh: ๐Ÿ˜ฎ That the extension is working, I thought it was a bug because it went offscreen.

  24. laurenbacall said:

    Just noticed it in the catalog, and already you're getting positive feedback :up: Would it be okay if you included 'icon by laurenbacall', with the name as the link to my blog, in the footer or on github? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  25. laurenbacall said:

    Sure :happy:

  26. christoph142 said:

    Sorry for owing you a debt of gratitude! I wanted to mention Andrรฉ and you in the extension's description in the catalog, but forgot about it when I uploaded it :doh:Would that be an appropriate place for you? ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Me? For the name? Thanks. And I'll translated it.Bug:Found one in a forum I participate, while posting something the box enlarge every space I add after a char. You can try here:http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?board=7.0Click to start a new topic. You'll need to add at least 6 lines to spaces start enlarging the box.I'm working on an extension now too, it includes quotes and brackets in selected text. Just like sublime text, on its site you can see the behavior in image #2.There's a little bug I need to take care and it should work.

  28. laurenbacall said:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    Bug:Found one in a forum I participate, while posting something the box enlarge every space I add after a char.

    Can confirm.Originally posted by An-dz:

    I'm working on an extension now too, it includes quotes and brackets in selected text. Just like sublime text

    Do you mean so you can add quotes/brackets around selected text by pressing the quote/bracket keys? That would be nice ๐Ÿ˜€ There are actually so many great things from Sublime Text I miss in regular web inputs! Ctrl+Shift+K to delete a line, Ctrl+Shift+Up/Down to move the line, etc.

  29. Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    Do you mean so you can add quotes/brackets around selected text by pressing the quote/bracket keys?

    Yes.Originally posted by laurenbacall:

    That would be nice ๐Ÿ˜€ There are actually so many great things from Sublime Text I miss in regular web inputs! Ctrl+Shift+K to delete a line, Ctrl+Shift+Up/Down to move the line, etc.

    Right now I'm focusing on the quotes/brackets. I still want to include other things, but multiple caret is not one.

Leave a Reply

