Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

modern scroll 2.4

Having a first WebKit-version of modern scroll is nice, but I bet an update for current Presto-releases is still more appreciated :up: …

As my tinkering turned into a restructuring and feature adding outcome, I once more decided to increase the version number. modern scroll 2.3.2 is now officially 2.4 :up:

That's what I ended up with: modern scroll 2.4

Changelog:

new: setting for time before hiding the bars
new: explanation fields in options page show up to the top if they are below middle of the screen
new: smarter settings update mechanism

  • up to version 2.3.1, modern scroll had a straight forward behavior:
    you change a setting, modern scroll updates the bars
    Sounds reasonable, doesn't it?
  • I now changed that. Why?
    Well, why should modern scroll update itself, if you can't see it anyway?
    Hence, the new behavior is:
    you change a setting -> modern scroll updates the bars in options page only so you can see its effect
  • this new mechanism also makes my workaround for DSK-380461 obsolete :up:

new: modern scroll gets removed when you leave the tab

  • there is now only one single instance of modern scroll – in your active tab
  • whenever you leave the tab, it gets completely removed
  • when you select a tab, it gets included again
  • hence there are no checks, calculations for background tabs anymore at all & there's no need to update all bars after settings changed since there are none, which should – again – result in better performance :yes:
  • as a side-effect, the bars are shown every time you switch tabs

new: modern scroll got moved

  • it is now outside of the body and thus even more separated from websites which (since it's not affected by a lot of CSS and JS instructions anymore that previously did) also slightly accelerates overall performance :up:

upd: Portuguese translation (thx AndrΓ©)
upd: background bars are only visible when you hover them with your mouse now by default
upd: faster calculation of page's new dimensions

  • since this calculation gets called pretty often (i.e. when you click the page, new content gets loaded or elements transition), it'll improve overall performance once more :up:

upd: faster calculation of scroll bars' new height/width

Comments on: "modern scroll 2.4" (25)

  1. Acryion said:

    Here is how it goes. I kinda disabled Modern Scroll for some time now. It actually made scrolling slower, since I had to wait for Modern Scroll to load and THEN I usually had to click on the site for Modern Scroll to kick in. On the PC it is somewhat … not so bad, but on the laptop is almost completely unusable.So I haven't use Modern Scrolll for a while…

  2. Here it's perfect. It starts up better too.Maybe you need to uninstall, restart Opera, reinstall as we did quite a lot of times.I'll take more attention if I find any bugs.

  3. I must include another comment to say that RC2 is amazing.After one updated I can't remember now the performance and smoothness deteriorated. Near when you added the custom scrolling options the performance got better. But this RC2 is the fastest and smoothest modern scroll I played with.Congratulations Christoph!

  4. Acryion said:

    Nah, my computer (especially HDD) must be really deteriorating. If I open like 20 tabs, with modern scroll, almost nothing is click-able, since Opera use all the cpu power available (1 core of a 2.8 Ghz Intel Q9550). And when scrolling works, it's jerky too. If I use only a few tabs (to a maximum of 5), then the improvements to Modern Scroll really show, with everything smooth as butter. Even the "click the page first for Modern Scroll to work" has been improved.

  5. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    RC2 is the fastest and smoothest modern scroll I played with.

    That's what I like to hear :yes:Originally posted by Acryion:

    If I open like 20 tabs, with modern scroll, almost nothing is click-able, since Opera uses all the cpu power available

    I don't think that this is caused by modern scroll then. Sounds like your computer is just totally maxed out by Opera. And if there's no CPU to work with, modern scroll can't scroll anymore.But you just made an idea pop up. I'm not sure yet if this is going to make things better or worse, but I'll let you know during the course of the day… :up:btw: What do you guys think of the new design of my blog? … I wanted to make it look a bit more like spring instead of that depressing dark fall-atmosphere πŸ˜‰

  6. Acryion said:

    I actually wanted to say something about the blog's changed look. It looks very chromy now. Cleaner, calmer and with a new-found sense of style :up:

  7. :cheers: Originally posted by Christoph:

    as a side-effect, the bars are shown every time you switch tabsDo you think this is a desirable feature or a disturbance?

    Its like feature! πŸ˜† Originally posted by Acryion:

    I actually wanted to say something about the blog's changed look. It looks very chromy now. Cleaner, calmer and with a new-found sense of style

    +1

  8. Acryion said:

    After this update the scrolling works pitch-perfect on my laptop too !Pure genius I tell you, this Christoph guy ^_^.

  9. Acryion said:

    Modern Scroll absolutely has to be the best maintained Opera Extension of all time.

  10. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by Acryion:

    After this update the scrolling works pitch-perfect on my laptop too !

    Great :love: Sounds like a release on Monday. ;)Originally posted by Acryion:

    Pure genius I tell you, this Christoph guy ^_^

    I'm feeling honored πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot :heart:What about the rest of you guys? There's a lot less feedback in here the last few weeks. We used to have more than 70 comments back when I introduced the custom scrolling functions in 2.0…

  11. christoph142 said:

    That might be true… I remember reading on the Desktop Team Blog that you switched from Opera, too…?IMHO the engine switch to Blink is the best they've done in quite some time. But I better don't praise the day before it's over :lol:Originally posted by Acryion:

    Any progression done on Documents 2.2?

    No, not yet. I wanted to wait until there are issue reports for Documents in Opera's catalog since I'm not sure if Google updated Docs Viewer for all languages now :sherlock:

  12. Acryion said:

    Well, a reason could be a some people left when they heard about the change to WebKit/Blink.Why stay on Opera when things break and you know the product will be changed all-together? They probably didn't want to endure and so they switched to Chrome/Firefox.PS: Any progression done on Documents 2.2? πŸ˜€

  13. I kinda wanted to switch. But Opera's features are so much more natural integrated and easier to use than all of Firefox's/Chrome's extensions.I still use mostly Opera for now though :D.About the Blink switch … agree. Best decision in a while. But they should make it worth-while.

  14. ahoj1234 said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    btw: What do you guys think of the new design of my blog? … I wanted to make it look a bit more like spring instead of that depressing dark fall-atmosphere

    well, when I'm scrolling (with ouse and also with keyboard) it is blink-ing πŸ˜€ Maybe you wanna do that (you surely know about Blink…) but I hate it πŸ™‚ (12.15 and modern scroll RC2)PS: Czech translation was updated last night (after a concert/s and beers but I hope that I update it right) :whistle:

  15. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by ahoj1234:

    HWA off

    The beer… :lol:Originally posted by ahoj1234:

    modern scroll seems to be even faster

    I think this is the first release where everybody agrees that it's better than before :happy:

  16. ahoj1234 said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    That's neither caused by modern scroll nor this blog's design… HWA?

    HWA off, so it's ridiculous… But it's blinking here and hard reload doesn't solve that… maybe a restart in near future…Originally posted by christoph142:

    Maybe a beer too much? At least you didn't issue a pull-request… ^^

    well… I'm going to do it now πŸ™‚ Originally posted by christoph142:

    Any feedback concerning modern scroll 2.4?

    scrolling seems to doesn't stuck… at least on FB it was a big problem what is solved now and modern scroll seems to be even faster than before! :cheers:

  17. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by ahoj1234:

    it is blink-ing

    That's neither caused by modern scroll nor this blog's design… HWA?Originally posted by ahoj1234:

    Czech translation was updated last night

    Maybe a beer too much? At least you didn't issue a pull-request… ^^Any feedback concerning modern scroll 2.4?

  18. Originally posted by christoph142:

    I think this is the first release where everybody agrees that it's better than before :happy:

    No way, the first version did too. :p :DOriginally posted by christoph142:

    IMHO the engine switch to Blink is the best they've done in quite some time. But I better don't praise the day before it's over πŸ˜†

    I just hope they don't make a lame chrome clone. The long time they're working on it and the power of Opera developers makes me have good thoughts. But the release of Opera for Android make me worry, they could have at least made a more Opera skin.

  19. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    No way, the first version did too

    Checkmate πŸ˜†Another last little update for today from my side:I tested modern scroll version 2.3.1 against 2.4 concerning startup times. The "testing environment" consists of 19 random tabs, which I had open from my day-to-day browsing (some of them pinned, stacked, normal). I tested both versions with default settings. The result:Opera without modern scroll (for reference – a bunch of different other extensions installed): 1:00Opera with modern scroll 2.3.1: 1:27 (almost 50% time penalty :down:)Opera with modern scroll 2.4 RC3 (coming tomorrow): 1:08 :up:… I did not turn off modern scroll for quite a while now and again I was really shocked how bad Opera's default scrolling is! This blog e.g. is pretty much unusable without it on my machine :yikes:

  20. I finally updated the romanian translation. Now it should be all good. Just in time for publication (or is it publishing?)Now on to the other extensions ! (if you would gladly provide a translation repository for all of them)

  21. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by Acryion:

    I finally updated the Romanian translation.

    Where…? :coffee:

  22. 2.4 final and RC2 is sometimes making my bar simply jump to the top/end when using the trackpad/mouse wheel. And it's only the bar, the content keep scrolling ok. Probably the same bug Ahoj1234 have.2.4 RC1 don't have this issue.Here's how to easily reproduce in the modern scroll options page:Go to the middle of the page and scroll up and down fast.The bar will simply jump to top/end.Doesn't happen on 2.4 RC1.

  23. Acryion said:

    Now that AndrΓ© mentioned it, I noticed the same behaviour here. Nothing major. Just distracting.

  24. christoph142 said:

    Well, it's a bit too late to check that now. I'm gonna upload 2.4 to the catalog now and take a look at this issue in a little update (2.4.1) since the performance improvements over 2.3.1 definitely outweigh it πŸ˜‰

  25. For sure, like Cryio said it's just a little annoyance.

Leave a Reply

