Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Here we go, I'm done with my list of missing / not working features :up:

Now it's your turn! 😉 …

Get modern scroll 3.0 RC 5 now

Changes in RC 5:

  • show text-cursor over saved configuration's name field
  • don't hide saved config's name for now (work around Issue 247969)
  • loading a configuration doesn't delete all saved sets anymore
  • loading a configuration updates all fields and sliders correctly
  • removed all English strings out of other localizations

Changes in RC 4:

  • fix padding in options page (work around Issue 247957)
  • new: "minipage" behind superbar now isn't a screenshot anymore, but the actual zoomed out page
    -> it updates in real-time and shows Flash :up:

Changes in RC 3:

  • removed (hopefully) all comments in JSON files
  • loading of saved configurations works again
  • hide default bars @ GitHub (and similar pages)
  • make info bubbles in options page show via CSS instead of JS
  • -> they are hiding correctly now and don't reappear on hover of the explanation area

Changes in RC 2:

  • Portuguese version is working again (thx André)
  • fix scroll buttons section showing blank
  • context menu should work reliably now &
  • last but not least: styled page element's scroll bars :yes:
    – try e.g. MyOpera Mail or Google Mail or just press Enter until a textarea needs scroll bars
    – there are limitations (e.g. opacity doesn't work at all and width is not changeable on hover; I don't know why those exist, but there's nothing I can do about it)
    – those limitations actually are the reason why I decided to adjust modern scroll to Chromium in the first place instead of just applying a simple style to scroll bars

Changes in RC 1:

  • fix disappearing percentage-symbols behind slider values
  • fix scroll buttons section not expanding/contracting in options page
  • move settings & default value handling into background.js
  • make contextmenu work (it's not very reliable; sometimes you need to rightclick the same spot for a second time in order for the menu item to (dis)appear. That's due to a race-condition that doesn't exist in Presto. I'll see if I can find another solution that works better)

So, have fun, try some settings, play with it and keep the feedback coming! 🙂

Comments on: "modern scroll 3.0 RC 1 – 5" (26)

  1. Can't scroll with keyboard in Opera help.

  2. christoph142 said:

    Is it related to any setting?Especially talking about "custom scrolling functions for the keyboard" here…

  3. Yes, it doesn't work when custom scrolling is on.

  4. christoph142 said:

    Anybody else having the same issue?

  5. netmain said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    Anybody else having the same issue?

    It works here ! no problem at all, you have just to focus the page and scroll with keyboard after!

  6. netmain said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    Your mind seems to play you a trick here

    you are right, just tried it again on 12.15 :eyes: sorry ! :love:

  7. christoph142 said:

    There's no need to apologize :)I prefer having reports of non-existent bugs than receiving no feedback at all… :zzz:Thus, I at least know, that somebody is actually testing this version… *subliminal criticism* :whistle:

  8. netmain said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    Thus, I at least know, that somebody is actually testing this version… *subliminal criticism*

    LOL, I'm sure guys are testing it, they are just not as idiots as I'm loll. Especially Acryo :pI'm surprised, it's working even better than in opera 12.15, and it shows how poor is scrolling in chrome without "smooth scrolling" … thanks for your hard work.

  9. Acryion said:

    I'm especially derp sometimes :D.For example, I can't seem to be able to download the extension now. Is Github down?Did Christoph manage to make the coloring for the scrolling bar work? 😀

  10. christoph142 said:

    Nope, it was a wrong link. sry :angel:And I do not intend to write my own color pickers ^^btw: modern scroll is gone… have a look at Opera's catalog…:rip::no:

  11. Removed for making Opera 12 better?Opera 15 help still doesn't work. I'm using an USB install.I tried debug, but Inspector is so bad that I couldn't find a way to.

  12. netmain said:

    Originally posted by christoph142:

    btw: modern scroll is gone… have a look at Opera's catalog…

    indeed !! what happened ?!

  13. Acryion said:

    There is some devil trickery at work here !

  14. christoph142 said:

    Almost André :PWell, several things – some of them very stupid – led to this:very stupid: JSON files do not allow comments (I didn't know that; why the hell would you forbid comments?! No sane programmer would even consider doing something that dumb)not stupid at all: Opera doesn't care, packs & uses the extensionpretty stupid: Opera's extension catalog's system does care and only recognized 4 out of 11 localizations of modern scroll 3.0 when I uploaded it earlier today – it doesn't have a button to add those missing ones manually thoughjudge for yourself :lol:: I decided to delete the Chromium extension modern scroll 3.0 once again to start over after I removed all comments in the concerned filesunbelievably stupid: This is how developer's management pane looks like:I clicked the "Delete"-button of modern scroll's Chromium version – so thought I.Instead, clicking either one of those delete buttons gets rid of both extensions :no:And there it goes… I don't know if they can somehow restore it, but I'm pretty pissed if all ratings & comments are lost :furious:

  15. Originally posted by christoph142:

    very stupid: JSON files do not allow comments (I didn't know that; why the hell would you forbid comments?! No sane programmer would even consider doing something that dumb)

    I already knew it. JSON is very stupid. At least my text editor accept and understand comments for its preferences.Originally posted by christoph142:

    unbelievably stupid: This is how developer's management pane looks like:I clicked the "Delete"-button of modern scroll's Chromium version – so thought I.Instead, clicking either one of those delete buttons gets rid of both extensions :no:

    And there it goes… I don't know if they can somehow restore it, but I'm pretty pissed if all ratings & comments are lost :furious:

    What a shame. The layout fooled you.

  16. It's probably Opera, does it occur with other extensions?And modern scroll preferences don't seem to be saved on my install.

  17. netmain said:

    Hey :)I get this sometimes with "scroll modern" extension, I don't know if it's related to the extension or to opera bug ! after reloading the extension, it works just as before ! 🙂

  18. netmain said:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    it's probably Opera, does it occur with other extensions?

    Didn't occur with any other extensions (yet) as I use only few right now.Originally posted by An-dz:

    And modern scroll preferences don't seem to be saved on my install.

    it happens sometimes that the pref are reset ! noticed that one too, but it happens randomly.. I think it has something to do with opera losing the "slow dial" too !

  19. christoph142 said:

    modern scroll 3.0 doesn't drop a single feature, but introduces quite a few new ones.What's in 2.4.3 that's not working in 3.0 for you?! :confused:

  20. Acryion said:

    You know, if you STILL can't use Modern Scroll in Opera 15/Chrome like you can in Opera 12.1x, I don't think you should publish it as Modern Scroll 3, because it has less (functional) features than MS 2.3.4For the moment, I think just Modern Scroll 1 for Opera 15 should be enough. When all features from O 12.1x work, you can bump the number back again.

  21. Acryion said:

    No no no. The other way around. In 3.0, picking a color for the scroll bar doesn't work. The option is there but …

  22. christoph142 said:

    Well, that's not fault of modern scroll.Opera just didn't implement the color picker yet.It'll work whenever they do without the need to update modern scroll.

  23. Acryion said:

    Oh. Now I get it.

  24. Originally posted by netmain:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    And modern scroll preferences don't seem to be saved on my install.

    it happens sometimes that the pref are reset ! noticed that one too, but it happens randomly.. I think it has something to do with opera losing the "slow dial" too !

    Not random here. It restart every time I restart Opera. I installed on Chromium and it's the same.

  25. christoph142 said:

    Originally posted by An-dz:

    It res[ets] every time I restart Opera.

    Damn. You're right :doh:I have to admit, that I don't have the slightest idea how to do it differently, though :left:edit: I re-read the documentation about storage-API. I can't spot anything wrong. Maybe there's a bug in it…?!

  26. Maybe it needs both sync and local for chrome.storage?Nope, the documentation says or.I checked the Chrome extension documentation, but couldn't find anything.

Leave a Reply

