Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

modern scroll 3.0.1

As promised in yesterday's comment on discontinued version 3.1, here's the first build of version 3.0.1 for you to play with. :up: …

For those of you who didn't read it yet: the hack I implemented in version 3.1 to detect changes in page's dimensions unfortunately

  1. is unreliable &
  2. breaks layouts (e.g. Facebook's image overlays will not cover the entire screen anymore)

which renders it unusable for everyday use.
Since there's no way to get rid of these issues, I decided to revert this change and publish version 3.0.1 instead containing all other adjustments out of 3.1.

This is it: modern scroll 3.0.1

Let me know how this build is working for you. Especially if bars are missized on any pages.

Thanks and happy testing :cheers:

Comments on: "modern scroll 3.0.1" (14)

  1. Christoph, I want to thank you for all your work, unfortunately, I cannot use Modern Scroll anymore.My motherboard is dying and so is my HDD, so if Opera is stressing them just a bit, the performance drop is so severe, it makes almost my whole PC unusable.I'm not saying it's MScroll's fault, but it does some overhead to the already exhausted system. I think you already noticed I haven't posted too much in any of the Modern Scroll updates.

  2. christoph142 said:

    Yes, I did.Too bad you're out.Would you mind giving me a hand with Romanian translation nevertheless?

  3. I will look into those :D.

  4. I'm still using Opera <13 but from time to time I open new Opera. Probably one reason I don't find bugs. Ah, you could add to use modern scroll on Opera's internal pages.I finished the translations of modern scroll (1 string left :p) and Textbox Auto Resizer (old TextBoXpander). :yes:

  5. anonymous said:

    Anonymous writes:is the "clicking the page anywhere updates page dimensions again" taken out of this beta?

  6. christoph142 said:

    No, it isn't. It's supposed to update. Anything wrong?Thx AndrΓ©. You're awesome πŸ™‚

  7. anonymous said:

    Anonymous writes:nope

  8. christoph142 said:

    Since nobody's experiencing any issues, this build is going to be the final then I guess πŸ™‚

  9. Davey126 writes:Is Modern Scroll still under active development? I have begun to experience problems on my bank site where modern scroll doesn't seem to know where the top and bottom of the page are. Scrolling mid-page only triggers small movements before stopping as if at the top/bottom. Hovering over the right edge suggests multiple 'active' scroll bars are being generated: one that knows the full page size while the other doesn't. Dragging top to bottom works ok but the home/end buttons do not. I can only reproduce this on my banking site although I have seen it elsewhere on occasion. Usually reloading the pages fixes the problem. Unfortunately, this workaround does not work on the banking site. As a result I have had to disable Modern Scroll which I sorely miss!

  10. christoph142 said:

    yes it is. But the info you mentioned doesn't suffice to investigate the issue.

  11. anonymous said:

    Anonymous writes:when could we expect a new version?

  12. christoph142 said:

    whenever bugs pop up that need to be fixed or you come up with a lacking feature that draws my interest.(I'm not enhancing modern scroll on my own atm. The reason is stated in here.)

  13. anonymous said:

    Davey126 writes:Sorry for the delay in responding. Unfortunately, the unusual behavior noted in my Sept 30th post only occurs after logging into my banking site; it does not happen on their public pages. I have since switches to another (inferior) scrolling tool from the Chrome store so I won't be able to detect if another public site triggers this behavior. Sorry I can't help you any further.(I wish you the best in your personal situation. I did donate a few coins awhile back as I believe in rewarding developers for their efforts. Modern Scroll is good stuff – just doesn't work for me)

  14. I did not yet check it, but I hope the auto scroll in cleanPages v2 for 15++ doesn't bite with modern scroll this time.http://my.opera.com/QuHno/blog/cleanpages-v2It shouldn't if you still use id="ms_style" for the stylesheet … πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

