Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Sexy Dialog beta

Sexy Dialog I got something new for you 🙂

What might that be?

Those of you who are following me for some time will know that I like things automated, distraction-less and fancy.

JavaScript’s alert()-function doesn’t match any of those. You know what I’m talking about? This one: -> click me <-

That’s why I strived for something visually more appealing. And I found it in Opera’s settings. The dialogs they’re using look way more modern to me and I wanted to have them not just hidden in settings, but everywhere. The result is Sexy Dialog which replaces the native functions and displays Opera-style dialogs instead 🙂

Wanna see it in action? Go to opera://flags (chrome://flags respectively) and enable “Experimental Web Platform Features”, then get Sexy Dialog 1.0 beta and give it a spin (click the demo above again after installing or go anywhere else and see its magic!)

What changed from alpha to beta?

  • fine-tuned styling
  • alerts now display in topmost frame wherever possible

I had to realize, that confirm() and prompt() are impossible to substitute (from what I know about it). Sexy Dialog will hence stay exclusive to alert()s.

Let me know what you think about it 🙂

Cheers

Comments on: "Sexy Dialog beta" (13)

  1. But What the….

    Seriously, I started working on something similar today.

    But it doesn’t fully work, I get an error on dialog.showModal() and dialog.close()

  2. I don’t know what you expect to happen, but this is what I get if I try it on that test page: http://i.imgur.com/quya4gv.jpg

    • I have the exact same output, and I’m on Windows 8.1

      Len is probably having the same errors I get.

    • Woops, I wasn’t aware that I was using that drastic cutting edge stuff…
      Enable opera://flags/#enable-experimental-web-platform-features and do it again! 😉

      • Oh, OK, now it works as expected thanks

        The “funny” thing is that to have this we’ve to rely on another extension while it should be the default of the browser. What sad times to live in 😦

      • That’s not another extension, but simply stuff that’s not stabilized yet. This will be part of Opera’s core in future versions 😉

      • I rerer to sexy dialog that is only an extension that does what Opera should do itself (as in Opera-presto) 😉

      • Oh, now I gotcha! ^^

        Well, I get that extensions for some reason are not very welcome by quite some users, but I don’t think that they are entirely bad…

        And I normally only develop extensions which I think should be “native”. I don’t like senseless toys (no offence against “play Super Mario”-extensions… people seem to like ’em… ^^)

  3. works as expected 🙂 .. well done Christoph.
    as Len mentioned, this should be “native” in the browser !

    • Thanks 🙂
      And glad to see more and more of you guys checking out my new blog 🙂

      As for the “native” stuff: that’s none of my business. Sorry I can’t help you with that ^^

      Btw: wait for what’s in private testing atm (THAT should be native O:) )

  4. Hey Christoph! Finally switched over to WordPress today, haha. Pretty much everything on the blog is broken without the custom CSS, but it survives.

    I remember you talking about these custom dialog boxes in a Opera dev comment a while back. Great you could get it working, although I think this addon could use a screenshot, as I’m currently not using Opera 15 (actually trying Firefox *gasp*).

    Awesome to see all these new ideas!

    • Nice to see you again. Missed you already 😉
      I wanted to add a screenshot a while ago, but forgot about it. I’m gonna catch up tomorrow. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

