Extensions designed to enrich your browsing experience

Unique Tabs 1.0

Unique TabsIn order to prevent monotony in my blog I decided not to show you something new, but something “old” this time šŸ˜›

What’s new in final version?

  • Unique Tabs is translatable (and translated already into German and Spanish (thx Fernando!) )
  • when notifications are available the tab gets closed immediately and notification gives you the possibility to reopen it
  • reopening the tab (either via notification if available) or via pressing Ctrl+Shift+T) doesn’t trigger closing it right away again but keeps it open

What’s new in beta 2?

Now the original tab (first duplicate) gets reactivated and the new tab gets closed.
Known issue: clicking notifications (in Chrome) doesn’t prevent closing

Unique Tabs? What’s that?

Most of you know by now that I like to automate the hell out of my life šŸ˜€
You probably saw a lot of those “remove all duplicate tabs”-button-extensions. But why do I have to press a button if I could also have a neat extension doing this all by itself as soon as I navigate to a page that’s already opened?
I was about to start development of this extension when I found that about a year ago a guy calledĀ Joey Aghion must have thought the same. There’s a Chrome extension called Unique Tabs in Google Chrome Store which I found during my obligatory search before I start coding. It’s a great extension, but unfortunately doesn’t work in Opera as is.

So? You wanna tell us you found sth. that we can’t use? Bravo! Thanks for that bro!

C’mon! You know that I wouldn’t dare šŸ˜›
Of course I made some adjustments and now you can enjoy its awesomeness in Opera 15+, too šŸ˜‰
Note that you will not receive a notification, but the tab will simply get closed in Opera since this feature relies on the same (missing) API that Download Control’s notifications do.

Wanna have it? Test it!

Get Unique Tabs 1.0 here šŸ™‚

It’s still in beta since I’m planning some further adjustments, but I’m eager to hear your feedback on it šŸ™‚

Comments on: "Unique Tabs 1.0" (5)

  1. I’d love to see unique tabs modified such that the existing tab takes focus rather than opening a new link. This is particularly beneficial in cases where I have entered some text or data into the site, but maybe not yet submitted a form or posted my comment.

  2. Anonymous said:

    How about a list of exclusions?
    some pages sometimes need to open several pieces

Leave a Reply

